Tub and Shower Cleaner

I hate commercial cleaners.  They make my rosacea act up instantly.  But I love clean!  While there are lots of good natural cleaners on the market, they are quite expensive.  I’m so happy to say that there are easy and inexpensive methods of cleaning – and I find this one works extremely well.  🙂

2013-01-20 20.57.56

This is my adorable little bathroom.  I just love it!

Tub and Shower Cleaner:

1/2 to 1 cup Baking Soda
Kosher Salt (optional)
Full strength White Vinegar in a spray bottle

1. Run hot water in your tub, then let it drain.  It softens soap scum and warms the tub floor.  I only really do this in the winter when my tub is cold.

2. Sprinkle baking soda over wet, drained tub.  If there is a lot of scum, the kosher salt will give it some more scrubbing power, but I only use this if I need it.  Just sprinkle some kosher salt over the baking soda.

3. Scrub away.  I usually start with the tub and then get to the sides.  Most junk comes off pretty easily.

4. Rinse well.  You don’t want baking soda residue, (although it comes off later without trouble if you miss a spot.)  I use a big plastic cup and just pour water all over the shower sides and the tub.  *You also want the baking soda gone because it would neutralize the vinegar and consequently take away some of the vinegar’s power to sanitize.

5. Give the whole shower a spray down with full strength white vinegar.  This is your disinfectant.  Let it sit while you clean the rest of your bathroom.

6. Rinse off the vinegar.  If you have some mildew stains you are working on, go at them with a toothbrush before you rinse the vinegar, but I don’t find it necessary very often.

7. Enjoy your sparkly clean tub! 🙂

*The smell of vinegar disappears quickly, and leaves a wonderful freshness behind!
* Don’t use vinegar on granite if you happen to have some in your bathroom! – Try vodka instead.  See this article about cleaning with vodka.

2013-01-20 21.32.41This post is on Pennywise Platter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

