Crispy Kale Chips

I actually do like kale.  But this is the only way I will Happily eat a whole entire bunch of kale, all by myself, and wish there was more.  They are that good.  The method is pretty much all the same, but feel free to play around with the seasonings.

2013-01-25 03.05.14

Kale: enough to cover the bottom of your cookie sheet in one layer
Olive Oil*
Seasonings (see below)

1. Preheat your oven to 300 degrees.

2. Lay your clean kale in a single layer on your cookie sheet.

3. Pour a handful of olive oil in your hands, let it dribble over the kale, and massage it into the kale.  This coats the kale and starts softening it.

4. Sprinkle with desired seasonings.  Massage a little bit more, then sprinkle a little more if desired.

2013-01-25 01.16.45

5. Bake at 300 degrees for 30 minutes.  Keep an eye on them, because they burn quickly!  The thickness of the kale, and possibly even the season it is picked may influence the timing.  I’m pretty sure my summer kale chips took less time, so just watch them.

Seasoning Ideas:
~Salt and Pepper
~Curry Powder and Salt
~Soy Sauce/Coconut Aminos and Nutritional or Brewers Yeast
~Ground Mustard Powder, Garlic Powder and Salt – this is my favorite so far! 🙂
~Taco Seasonings or Chili Powder
~Any seasoning mixes from Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo

2013-01-25 03.05.06

 

*For those of you who do not like to cook with olive oil, neither do I!  The oven temp is fairly low in this recipe, and since I want to use a fat that won’t harden at room temperature in my winter kitchen, this is my favorite option.  Feel free to sub with coconut oil or lard if you prefer! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Crispy Kale Chips

  1. Pingback: Super Bowl Snack Ideas! | simpleandmerry

  2. Just made my first batch and they’re delicious. I did coconut oil, 1/3 curry, 1/3 Chugwater Chili, and 1/3 mustard (no garlic powder) + Braggs liquid aminos all over. Is that what you meant by aminos? Curry was probably my favorite. Thank you for bringing deliciousness and good health to my home!

    • Yaay! So glad to hear it 🙂 For people who are allergic to soy – you can use coconut aminos, which tastes pretty much like soy sauce. Otherwise, Braggs liquid aminos is perfect! 🙂

Leave a Reply

