Oven Fried Parsnips

Parsnips look like white carrots.  They are not bitter at all (like turnips and rubabega) and are quite sweet.  My dad says they are sweetest when picked after the first frost, and I’m pretty sure that is when the local ones are in season.  I remember he used to peel them, boil them, then fry them in butter.  These tastes just as good, but are a lot easier! 🙂

2013-01-28 05.23.34

Parsnips
1/3 cup (ish) Coconut Oil
Sea Salt

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Put the coconut oil in your cookie sheet or pyrex.  Place in the oven to melt (unless your kitchen is warm and it’s already melted.)

2. Wash and trim parsnips (I didn’t bother peeling them, the skin gets nice and crispy).  Cut them into coins.  (They tend to get super narrow at the bottom, don’t slice that part as thin.)

3. Place parsnip coins in the coconut oil, then flip over so both sides are coated.  Sprinkle with salt.

4. Bake for 30 minutes, then flip over and bake another 5 or 10 minutes depending on how brown they are.  You want them nice and toasty, but not burnt.

5. Enjoy! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Oven Fried Parsnips

  1. It’s not often that I say this, but I have some extra parsnips laying around from another recipe, so this is perfect! Great idea, Mary!

  2. I love parsnips! My dad does the boil/fry method too. I tend to lean towards your technique. I love your blog – I can hear your voice as I read it!

  3. Pingback: Side Dishes | simpleandmerry

Leave a Reply

