Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

I did a guest post for Aglaee, the Paleo Dietitian!  She is a lovely blogger who has so much wonderful information on her site!  Check her out, and learn all sorts of wonderful things – along with this fabulous recipe!  These amazing cupcakes are egg, dairy, grain/gluten, nut and seed free, and Sooo delicious!  Just click here to get the recipe and see the rest of her site! 🙂  And Read the following tips as this recipe needs to be precise:

1. Use Finely Shredded, Unsweetened Coconut
2. Measure the baking soda precisely.  I’ve had success with adding it in with the other ingredients also!  No need to add it after.
3. If subbing coconut cream concentrate/coconut manna, realize that this is whole ground coconut, and NOT the cream at the top of a can of coconut milk.  
4. Enjoy!  They are so yummy and the perfect treat. 🙂

2013-01-23 22.00.21This recipe is featured on Pennywise Platter. 🙂

15 thoughts on “Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Super Bowl Snack Ideas! | simpleandmerry

  2. Pingback: AIP Valentine Roundup! | simpleandmerry

  3. Pingback: Blueberry-less, Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes: A Baking Experiment – Day 76 of The Pollyanna Plan | The Pollyanna Plan

  4. Was out of lemon and so I used orange. This are the very best AIP/SCD/FODMAP/Paleo treats anywhere. You’ve nailed it! Now I need to give my body a rest and try some savory stuff!

  5. Pingback: Simple Berry Tart | simpleandmerry

  6. Oh man I was SO ecstatic to try these! They sounded amazing! First off, I didn’t realize coconut would turn to a liquid in the food processor if you leave it run long enough … very cool! Secondly … not sure how I can correct this but after about 15 minutes mine were burnt to a crisp on the edges and bottom 😦 I just baked other items yesterday so pretty sure it’s not my oven. I am going to try them again this afternoon and see if I just over cooked them but 15 minutes doesn’t seem long enough! Also … curious if you think adding an egg might make them hold together a bit better as mine were a bit crumbly … like a graham crust for cheesecake? Either way the recipe is a keeper since I could have easily eaten the entire bowl of the batter! HAHA!

    • Hi Samantha! Thanks for your comment, I’m sorry yours burnt – I’m not sure what went wrong, but here are some ideas: did you happen to use honey instead of maple syrup? I know that browns faster… or possibly sweetened coconut instead of unsweetened, in which case the higher sugar content? If neither of these are the case, I’d just try turning down your oven – it is possible that mine runs a little low, although it is fairly new, so I doubt it. Either way, it can’t hurt to turn your oven down and see what happens. 🙂

      I am allergic to eggs, so I have never tried it, but feel free to and let me know how they turn out! As far as how long you bake them, if they don’t have eggs, it doesn’t really matter as you can eat it raw and it won’t hurt you. In fact in some of my recipes I use this same idea but as a “no bake” crust. They really solidify in the refrigerator (they are generally a bit crispy on the outside and soft on the inside when I take them out of the oven.) I let them sit in the muffin tins until they firm up a bit, then refrigerate them before I serve them. I hope this was helpful! Let me know how they turn out, I do make them frequently, so I’m pretty confident that it will work out for you. Thanks again! Mary 🙂

  7. I was so excited about these…finally something I could eat and the batter was AWESOME!!! But then I cooked them and they burnt on the outside and the middle sunk and wasn’t cooked. It still tasted good but it didn’t look anything like yours. I used my vitamix to process the coconut because I don’t have a food processor. Could that have been the problem? I really want them to turn out.

    • Hi Claire! You are the third person who has told me they burnt, so there is clearly something that I need to figure out! However, I’ve made them so many times, and I also have people they work for – so I think there is a solution, we just have to find it! Could you answer the following questions for me? What kind of coconut did you use? Is it super fine, and unsweetened? Did you use the maple syrup or another kind of sweetener? What kind of salt did you use? Is your oven generally pretty reliable as far as temperature?

      For the record, mine have never burnt, but they Are kind of crispy on the outside and soft on the inside when I take them out of the oven. I let them sit in the muffin tins until they mostly cool, then take them out and refrigerate. They are at their nicest texture after being chilled. They do sink a little, but not much!

      As far as the Vita Mix – Did the batter look pretty much like mine in the picture? If so, I’m sure it is fine, as long as the baking soda is fully incorporated.

      If you could help me by answering these questions, maybe I can get to the bottom of it. Thanks so much and sorry about the problem you are having with the recipe! Best of luck, Mary 🙂

  8. Hi! I just made these and also had some issues with them sinking. They are very soft in the middle but they haven’t cooled yet so hopefully they will firm up like you said. The batter tastes amazing so I would love to troubleshoot with you to see if I did something wrong. I used the lets do coconut brand and real maple syrup. My batter looked like yours for the most part. I haven’t measured my oven so it is possible that it is off.. Could that cause the sinking? Do you think adding more baking soda could help? Thanks in advance!

    • Hi Crystal! I made them again yesterday to make sure I wasn’t going crazy, and they turned out perfectly! So I’m sure we can figure this out, thanks for your help! Three thoughts:
      Was your coconut the “Fine Shredded Coconut?” Or larger flakes? If it is larger flakes, that is probably the problem as it would still grind up, but wouldn’t be a whole cup of the ground coconut/coconut cream concentrate.
      Also, after I published the recipe, I stared adding the baking soda in with the maple syrup, lemon juice and such – possibly it isn’t getting incorporated well enough, or some of the air gets beaten out as it stirs longer. Aglaee is going to clarify the recipe a bit in a few days…
      It could be oven temp! The ones I made yesterday took 25 or 26 full minutes to brown up and, although they were soft to the touch, they didn’t sink. Maybe try 325? It is possible that my oven runs a little on the cool side, but it is less than 2 years old, and has been quite consistent.

      As far as the blueberries, I just put them on frozen. Your cupcakes will firm up for sure, as the coconut fat in them gets hard when chilled. I’m glad you like them, sorry for the inconvenience, let me know how it works for you! Thanks! Mary 🙂

      • Thank you so much for your prompt reply. I did use the finely shredded coconut so I don’t think that was the problem. I will try making them again soon and put the baking powder in with the other ingredients to see if that helps. They did firm up some in the fridge and tasted great, so I hope I can stop the sinking next time. Thanks for your help!

      • Ok, thanks for that info! Try to be very precise about the baking Soda – maybe even use a little less. The sinking could easily be because of that… Please let me know how it comes out! Thanks 🙂 Mary

Leave a Reply

