Whipped Coconut Cream

I know that just about every dairy free blog whips coconut cream, but I had never done it!  Finally I had to try.  I’ve heard that its hit or miss as far as getting the cream to separate from the water, but I didn’t have any trouble using Thai Kitchen Coconut Milk!  And the results were better than I had even hoped!  It whipped, for sure, but it was a bit more dense than whipped cream – more mousse like.  Which is No Problem!  I love mousse, too! 🙂  It doesn’t need sweetener if you have fruit on top, but feel free to try it.  I also tried adding some cocoa powder and maple syrup which was luscious!  I’m trying to be sweetener free, so I’m saving that for my husband, who doesn’t have a sugar addiction problem.  🙂  Lucky him!  But I was altogether pleased with how this turned out!  Enjoy! 🙂

009

Vanilla Whipped Coconut Cream:

1 can Thai Kitchen Full Fat Coconut Milk, Refrigerated Overnight
Splash Vanilla
pinch salt
Maple Syrup to taste (optional!)
Sliced fruit or berries
Cinnamon

1. Take your coconut milk out of the refrigerator, open, and scoop out the stiff cream from the top of the can.

2. Put in a mixer, and beat!  I added a little of the coconut “water” from the bottom of the can because it was so thick.  Stir in whatever ingredients you want as far as sweeteners.

3. Dallop the cream along with some fruit in a pretty dish – sprinkle with cinnamon! 🙂

 

011

This is what it looked like, freshly whipped! 🙂

 

Chocolate Whipped Coconut Cream:

1 can Thai Kitchen Full Fat Coconut Milk, Refrigerated Overnight
Splash Vanilla
Pinch Salt
2 Tbs. Maple Syrup, or to taste
2 Tbs unsweetened cocoa powder, or to taste
Fruit slices or Berries

1. Take your coconut milk out of the refrigerator, open, and scoop out the stiff cream from the top of the can.

2. Put in a mixer, and whip!  I added a little of the coconut “water” from the bottom of the can because it was so thick.  Stir in whatever amounts you want as far as sweeteners and cocoa.

3. Add dallops along with sliced fruit – this would be luscious with strawberries or raspberries! 🙂

 

013

Yes, it would have been prettier with strawberries!  I will take another picture when strawberries are in season! 🙂

 

One thought on “Whipped Coconut Cream

  1. Pingback: Simple Berry Tart | simpleandmerry

Leave a Reply

