Use Up Your Nightshades: Ratatouille

We Moved!!  Yes!  That is why you have not heard from me in So long!  And since the timing was a bit off, Ernie and I lived with his parents for four weeks.  This turned out to be a blessing in many ways, and we are SO grateful to them for their hospitality!  Having said that, all parties are very happy to have our own space, in the end.  We are SO enjoying our new home, and see my new kitchen? 🙂

015And the other side of it:

014I’m so grateful that my husband insisted that I have a spacious kitchen!  Happy Happy Days!

SO, on with the recipe.

I have many memories of ratatouille – my dad Loved it, and so did I!  My mom and sisters and I would make huge batches every fall, and freeze it for the winter.  We would leave it in the oven while we were at church, and serve it with lots of oozey cheese.  So yum!  So my CSA basket has been full of tomatoes, eggplant, and peppers – as typical for this time of year.  Plus, everyone has been giving them to us, which is great!  I even ate some tomatoes this summer, but my joints are a bit sore, and my face is a little inflamed, so its time to stop.  Ernie has no problem eating nightshades, so I thought I would play a “Use up the nightshades” game.  This recipe is not exact – just use them up however you wish!  It is so easy, so delicious, and so easy to give away.  It is highly nutritious for those who do well on nightshades.  Feel free to change any of the amounts – its all good! 🙂

011

Ratatouille

2 Tbs. Coconut Oil or oil of choice
2 onions, peeled and rough chopped
2+ bell peppers, seeded, rinsed and chopped (feel free to add a hot pepper in!)
2 eggplants, peeled and chopped
5+ tomatoes chopped, or a can or two of canned tomatoes, salsa, tomato juice, anything you need to use up
4 or 5 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped
A generous sprinkling of basil and oregano (at least a few teaspoons each if dried, or a good chopped handful of each if fresh)
Salt and Pepper to taste

1. Melt coconut oil in an appropriate sized pot.

2. Add chopped onions, cook until they start to become translucent.

3. Add everything else, and simmer for several hours.  You just want to make sure the eggplant is cooked until tender.

4. Adjust the seasonings, and serve, freeze, or give away!  I served it on a bed of spaghetti squash.

5. Enjoy! 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “Use Up Your Nightshades: Ratatouille

  1. Sounds delicious and so useful for all the tomatoes that are suddenly around! Is that your new kitchen in your new house? It’s beautiful!

  2. Great kitchen, it’s lovely. Congratulations for your new home!! Your recipe sounds great. I’m a lucky girl: last summer I avoided tomatoes but they seem to be OK for me because I’ve been eating them a lot this summer and I think I’m fine. Maybe it would be the same for you next summer!

Leave a Reply

