Apple Cookies! (AIP / 21DSD)

I have a love/hate relationship with sweet things.  I love sweets, and sweets hate me.  🙂  This is not entirely true – and I do feel that I have already made significant progress with my sugar cravings/addiction… and that sweets CAN be a healthy part of a good diet, when handled properly.  But it IS wonderful to reset one’s taste for sweet things.  To be satisfied with less.  To taste the sweet in things that we couldn’t before.  So I’m doing the 21 Day Sugar Detox!  I got the book, by Diane Sanfilippo – and I am loving it!  I highly recommend it! 🙂

226

I’m on day 6.  It is going well so far!  I really do miss sweet things, though!  And I miss baking!  Being on the Autoimmune Paleo Protocol – I can’t have nuts, seeds, eggs, nightshades, or dairy – which makes it a little difficult.  Add on that I have to watch my histamine intake – which takes out bacon, bananas, and spinach (plus others!) it isn’t Quite as much fun, but alas!  🙂

 I’m going to start posting recipes that are complaint with both the 21 Day Sugar Detox, AND the Autoimmune Protocol.  You will find a special Tab for it in my recipe section.  *I do use some seed spices, such as cumin – if that is a problem for you, please omit.

225

So, I mentioned that I missed baking – and remembered this Apple Spice Cookie Recipe.  Just omit the raisins, and you are good to go!  I admit that they are not super sweet – but that is kind of the point, and they are quite satisfying.  🙂  I recommend you play around with the spices – if you can tolerate them!  Maybe add some lemon zest, cardamom, some fun extracts, play with the flavors!  Add a few slices of apple to the top, and sprinkle with cinnamon.  And enjoy 🙂

222

And this is a picture of the batter – in case you were wondering 🙂

Leave a Reply

